Wilmer Flores and Rafael Montero Lead Sterling Award Winners

Wednesday, the Mets named 1B/2B/3B Wilmer Flores and RHP Rafael Montero their Sterling Organizational Player and Pitcher of the year respectively.

The Mets also named a Sterling Award Winner for each affiliate:

AAA – RHP Matt Harvey
AA – RHP Zack Wheeler
A+ – OF Alonzo Harris
A – RHP Michael Fulmer
SSA – RHP Hansel Robles
R – RHP Miller Diaz
DSL1 – RHP Yoryi Nuez
DSL2 – OF Vicente Lupo

The Sterling Award winners will be recognized in a pre-game ceremony Saturday.

The only two repeat winners from 2011 are Harvey, who was the 2011 St. Lucie winner, and Montero, who won for his 2011 work in the Gulf Coast League.

The Sterling Awards are not about the best prospect either on a system level or by affiliate, although this year, they come fairly close to matching up. Remember, last year, Josh Satin was the Sterling Award Player of the year while LHP Darin Gorski was the Pitcher of the Year. Satin was DFA’d this year.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s